Members of Congress Supporting the OPEN Act


OPEN Supporters in the House Twitter Page OPEN Supporters in the Senate Twitter Page
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA) @darrellissa Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR) @ronwyden
Rep. Spencer Bachus (R-AL) @bachusal06 Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS) @jerrymoran
Rep. John Campbell (R-CA) @repjohncampbell Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA) @markwarner
Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) @jasoninthehouse Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) @us_sen_cantwell
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR) @reppeterdefazio
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX) @replloyddoggett
Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA) @usrepmikedoyle
Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA) @repannaeshoo
Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX) @farenthold
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) @repraulgrijalva
Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Rep. Mike Honda @repmikehonda
Rep. Timothy Johnson (R-IL) @reptimjohnson
Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI) @jimlangevin
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA) @repzoelofgren
Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC) @patrickmchenry
Rep. George Miller (D-CA) @askgeorge
Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO) @jaredpolis
Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA) @dorismatsui
Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL) @repdennisross
Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA) @repspeier
Rep. Pete Stark (D-CA) @petestark
Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA) @repthompson
Rep. Lynn Woolsey @replynnwoolsey

    Letters to Congress

  • Like OPEN

    New York Times Editorial Board Endorses OPEN

    OPEN “gives copyright holders powerful new tools to protect themselves. And it goes a long way toward addressing the concerns of Internet companies, protecting legitimate expression on the Web from overzealous content owners. The two sides need to move beyond their resentments and push for its passage.”

  • Like OPEN

    Company Logos
    Endorse OPEN

    “We write today to express our support for the legislation…released last week on www.keepthewebopen.com as the Online Protection and Enforcement of Digital Trade (OPEN) Act. This approach targets foreign rogue sites without inflicting collateral damage on legitimate, law-abiding U.S. Internet companies…”

  • Like OPEN

    netCoalition, Consumer Electronics Association and Computer & Communications Industry Association Endorse OPEN

    “We believe the draft OPEN Act is narrowly focused on providing effective remedies that target [“rogue” websites], without creating new liabilities for lawful, U.S. technology companies or collateral damage to the secure functioning of the global open Internet…As organizations that represent companies that are themselves rightsholders and that are on the front lines of working with rightsholders to protect their works, we believe that this approach would be an effective tool in combating copyright and trademark infringement.”

  • Like OPEN

    Library Copyright Alliance, American Library Association, Association of Research Libraries and Association of College & Research Libraries Endorse OPEN

    “LCA welcomes the open and transparent process you have initiated by sharing a discussion draft of the Online Protection and Enforcement of Digital Trade (OPEN) Act on the Internet for all interested stakeholders to assess and discuss. We are pleased to see members of Congress acting on a principle that libraries champion: the Internet offers powerful new ways for citizens to learn about and participate in their society and in their government. Legislation that affects this broad, democratizing platform should be subject to an equally broad and open discussion, and it is fitting that the Internet itself makes that discussion possible. Thank you for inviting the public to engage in this important conversation.”

  • Like OPEN

    “Father of the Internet” Vint Cerf Endorses OPEN’s “Follow-the-Money” Approach to Protecting American Intellectual Property

    “Rather than continuing to promote ineffective and harmful ‘technical’ solutions as those found in the managers’ amendment to SOPA, I urge Congress to pursue a more tailored, effective approach, such as the ‘follow-the-money’ tactic.”

  • Dislike SOPA

    83 Internet Pioneers Underscore SOPA & PIPA Threat to Domain Name System (DNS)

    “When we designed the Internet the first time, our priorities were reliability, robustness and minimizing central points of failure or control. We are alarmed that Congress is so close to mandating censorship-compliance as a design requirement for new Internet innovations.”